salsa chic

I want to learn more Canadian history!

salsa chic

Hi! My American public school education did not really give me a very good foundation in global history. I was taught 10 years of American history, 1 year of the Western Hemisphere (including Canada), 1 year of the Eastern Hemisphere, and 1 year of world history. Isn't that awful??? Besides religious reasons, academic standards are one of the major reasons for us to homeschool in my family. I want my kids to receive more of a global education.

Anyway, I'm realizing that I don't know much about Canada. I studied in Mexico for 2 semesters in college, so I know quite a bit about Mexico, but not my northern neighbor. I live in western Michigan, only a few hours from Ontario. I should know more! So, I was wondering if anyone has a few good titles to recommend on Canadian history. Books that are captivating and not just dry, boring facts. I would prefer real history, but I guess that I could take some historical fiction, too. You can recommend ones that you actually have your students read. :)

Also, I'm curious if the public schools in Canada are more global in their education than American public schools. What is the scope and sequence like there? I'm just so ANGRY about what I didn't learn in school. I'm trying to read a lot and learn a lot to catch up on what I should know.

Thanks for your help!

TNmomma

Interesting! I'm sitting here reading the "variety" of classes you had and I think it's amazing compared to what I got. I had American history every year except for one year when I had a class called "Modern History". It covered World History (mainly European, if I'm totally honest) from about 1000 AD until present, but when the Mayflower landed, it really focused a LOT on Am History too. I don't know a lot about any other history and that's why I've LOVED doing SL with my kids so much. I'll be interested in to see the replies you get because I'd like to learn about our neighbors to the north.

PEI Mom