msclare83

Homeschooling Autism

msclare83

Hey all. My 4 year old son has autism. I have been homeschooling my older two kiddos for 5 years, and planned on homeschooling my 4 yr old as well, but recently his therapists have been strongly recommending that he go to preschool this year for social skills and routine.

I'm exploring private & Montessori schools, but I'm honestly sad at the idea of him being away at school every day.

Does anyone here homeschool young autistic kiddos? Or found that their kids did really well going to school?

poodlemom

Again, it all depends on the school and teachers.  I have a friend who has 3 kids and her youngest went to kindergarten for two years in a row and really thrived, made some friends, and was able for a lot of therapies per the school district.

I worked in a private charter school with every other kid having a dx of autism.  Classes were small and lots of therapists. 

However, I've seen it be a bit neglectful in other districts. 

Getting back to my friend with the 3 kids, one of the reasons she did send her son to school was also to take the pressure off the other 2 kids.  The youngest son's autism really took a huge toll on the two older kids and they were getting quite angry.  For example, my friend would be working with the two older children and suddenly the youngest one would swoop in and rip up their arts and crafts projects.  As she said, she was running a home school, therapy center, and constant intervention.  It was just too much for everyone to get cope with.

Or your child may be so withdrawn and a good therapist and the right kind of kids could help draw him out - I've personally seen that happen too.

Just giving you thoughts to think about.

Poodlemom

hsmamainva

I have two children with autism.

I homeschooled my oldest son K-12 and he's now in college.  We used Sonlight for all 12 years.