HeidiSue62

Tutoring a dyslexic 16yo

HeidiSue62

Hey, y'all, I'm retired from home schooling my own two sons, because they're grown :-), (in fact I was a Sonlight Curriculum Consultant), but now I'm tutoring kids. One of them is a 16yo dyslexic young man from Palestine, who is reading at a 1st grade level. We have slowly worked through ETC 1 and I Can Read It Book 1, but he's still having trouble with differentiating and remembering the different short vowel sounds. I'm also using the flash cards from Language Tool Kit, which is the Orton-Gillingham method of phonics. I think he's in a bad habit of guessing at words, instead of taking the time to sound them out. 

Believe it or not, the school district tested him and thought he was only border-line dyslexic. Apparently he had trouble reading Arabic as well. He gets by in school by having teachers the read the test (though they don't have to and sometimes don't) and guessing at words. So, anyway, three questions: 

1) can someone share with me the key to the post-test in Book 1, since I didn't buy it and have long since sold my old IGs?

2) Should I keep drilling him on the short vowel sounds, or move on to the next book? 

3) Anything else I can do to help him? I have read up on educational therapy, and "rhythmic writing", but I'm not trained in it. There's only a few people in my area who can do that, and they charge an arm and a leg. 

Thanks in advance for your help. 

Merry