• 357 posts
  • LocationKentucky

Sonlight Customer Core Level Sonlighter Club
Core IGs:
Core P3/4 Core P4/5
Language Arts IGs:
Language Arts K

Posted 23 November 2011 - 07:03 AM

So I am new to sonlight and new to homeschooling and trying to get ready for our first year of both. I have 2 girls, 22 months (and 2 school years) apart. I have read through alot of the choosing forum posts and lots of the rest of the website and I really think that we need to be using 2 seperate cores. I have a couple friends who use sonlight for multiple kids with one core, but I do not think that is the right fit for our family (lots of reasons I will not go into in this post). We may merge into one core later if the kids are ready/able to do that. As someone with no homeschool experience, I am trying to make a solid, realistic gameplan as a spring board into the world of homeschooling (knowing that we will be flexible as the year progresses)

So my questions are:

1) For families doing 2 cores, how do you arrange your day to fit it all in? What do your days look like? What kind of time commitment is it with 2 cores? (And yes, I realize it is different for every family, but I am trying to get some basic ideas for a starting point!)

2) For younger kids, how do you know when they are ready to start as opposed to just listening in? Age? Skills? Attention span?

3) We are considering having another, so what do you do with the babies/toddlers who are pre-homeschooling (especially once they get mobile) during your school time?

4) Does anyone have both parents "teach" or basically just one parent all the time? My husband would like to be part of the process, but we are not sure if that would just complicate/confuse things to have him "sub in" some times.

Thanks for your feedback!!

Katherine (5 years) ~ Picture Book Preschool, SL LA K, Pathway Grade 1 readers, A Reason for Handwriting A/ETC 2 workbooks, Singapore Earlybird B, and LOTS of imagination and play :)