kwife

Thoughts on Math Curriculum to follow Singapore 6B

kwife

Hi! New to this forum although I've been homeschooling using Sonlight for 7 years. I have 5 kids, 4 of whom will be using Sonlight this fall. My oldest two (12 yo daughter & 10 yo son) have been doing the same thing together from the beginning, so my son is considerably ahead for his age. Especially in math. He's REALLY good at math, and we have LOVED Singapore. I love it just as much as they do. It has filled in gaps in my own math education and given me the confidence to tackle complicated word problems that previously stumped me. And my kids have done exceptionally well at it. But as you guys know, Singapore basically stops after 6B. I know they have their new Dimensions thing, but I'm not keen on following the Common Core guidelines. So I have been specifically looking at MathUSee's Pre-Algebra as the next step or Saxon. And I have done the placement tests for both MUS and Saxon. They both tested as ready for Pre-Algebra (Pre-Algebra in MUS and Algebra 1/2 in Saxon).

I have skimmed the previous thoughts on math after Singapore, but in several of those cases, it seemed people weren't thrilled with Singapore. We WERE thrilled with Singapore, my kids loved it, are quite good at math and I very much want to continue on a similar pace/intensity/clarity level.  I would welcome any insight from others with similar experiences. Thanks!

Derf